Survival In Auschwitz

Author: Primo Levi
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 9780684826806
Release Date: 1996
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

The author describes his twenty month ordeal in the Nazi death camp.

Fascism Anti fascism and the Resistance in Italy

Author: Stanislao G. Pugliese
Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield
ISBN: 0742531236
Release Date: 2004
Genre: History

While the historical significance of fascism and anti-fascism is still being hotly debated in Italy and across Europe, this anthology brings to light a wide range of voices--political, literary, and popular--that illuminate more than eighty years of fascism and anti-fascism in Italy. Visit our website for sample chapters!

Primo Levi and Humanism after Auschwitz

Author: J. Druker
Publisher: Springer
ISBN: 9780230622180
Release Date: 2009-06-08
Genre: History

This innovative study reassesses Primo Levi's Holocaust memoirs in light of the posthumanist theories of Adorno, Levinas, Lyotard, and Foucault and finds causal links between certain Enlightenment ideas and the Nazi genocide.

A Centaur in Auschwitz

Author: Massimo Giuliani
Publisher: Lexington Books
ISBN: 0739107429
Release Date: 2003
Genre: Literary Criticism

In A Centaur in Auschwitz, Massimo Giuliani sheds new light on Primo Levi's rational, demythologizing approach to suffering and survival. Whether working in narrative or poetic form, Levi grappled with the ambiguities and complexities of innocence and guilt, triumph and loss. This unique book, with its concise overview of Levi's expression and development as a writer, reveals Primo Levi for what he was: scientist, intellectual, Jew, human, and dedicated seeker of the roots of human dignity.

Perceptions of Jewish History

Author: Amos Funkenstein
Publisher: Univ of California Press
ISBN: 0520912195
Release Date: 1993-03-03
Genre: Religion

"Perceptions of Jewish History scintillates with original ideas and insights. It will appeal to a broad audience."--Michael A. Signer, University of Notre Dame "Students of the Jewish past will welcome this volume; it will also attract readers with the widest possible range of interests."--Robert Chazan, New York University

By Chance Alone

Author: Max Eisen
Publisher: HarperCollins
ISBN: 9781443448550
Release Date: 2016-04-19
Genre: History

WINNER of CBC Canada Reads In the tradition of Elie Wiesel’s Night and Primo Levi’s Survival in Auschwitz comes a bestselling new memoir by Canadian survivor Finalist for the 2017 RBC Taylor Prize More than 70 years after the Nazi camps were liberated by the Allies, a new Canadian Holocaust memoir details the rural Hungarian deportations to Auschwitz-Birkenau, back-breaking slave labour in Auschwitz I, the infamous “death march” in January 1945, the painful aftermath of liberation, a journey of physical and psychological healing. Tibor “Max” Eisen was born in Moldava, Czechoslovakia into an Orthodox Jewish family. He had an extended family of sixty members, and he lived in a family compound with his parents, his two younger brothers, his baby sister, his paternal grandparents and his uncle and aunt. In the spring of1944--five and a half years after his region had been annexed to Hungary and the morning after the family’s yearly Passover Seder--gendarmes forcibly removed Eisen and his family from their home. They were brought to a brickyard and eventually loaded onto crowded cattle cars bound for Auschwitz-Birkenau. At fifteen years of age, Eisen survived the selection process and he was inducted into the camp as a slave labourer. One day, Eisen received a terrible blow from an SS guard. Severely injured, he was dumped at the hospital where a Polish political prisoner and physician, Tadeusz Orzeszko, operated on him. Despite his significant injury, Orzeszko saved Eisen from certain death in the gas chambers by giving him a job as a cleaner in the operating room. After his liberation and new trials in Communist Czechoslovakia, Eisen immigrated to Canada in 1949, where he has dedicated the last twenty-two years of his life to educating others about the Holocaust across Canada and around the world. The author will be donating a portion of his royalties from this book to institutions promoting tolerance and understanding.

Approaches to Auschwitz

Author: Richard L. Rubenstein
Publisher: Westminster John Knox Press
ISBN: 0664223532
Release Date: 2003-01-01
Genre: History

Distinctively coauthored by a Christian scholar and a Jewish scholar, this monumental, interdisciplinary study explores the various ways in which the Holocaust has been studied and assesses its continuing significance. The authors develop an analysis of the Holocaust's historical roots, its shattering impact on human civilization, and its decisive importance in determining the fate of the world. This revised edition takes into account developments in Holocaust studies since the first edition was published.

The Holocaust s Ghost

Author: F. C. DeCoste
Publisher: University of Alberta
ISBN: 0888643373
Release Date: 2000
Genre: History

A powerful collection of commentary on the Holocaust by international writers from nine disciplines. The volume forms a response to the Holocaust's demands on memory and on thought, and is an occasion to encounter the Holocaust both as history and as possibility. Contributors provided essays on art, politics, law, and education. The 38 contributors include: Stephen Feinstein, Director, Center for Holocaust and Genocide Studies; Carol Ann Reed, Director, Holocaust Education and Memorial Centre of Toronto; Sid Chafetz, artist and professor of art; Henry Friedlander, professor of history, Brooklyn College; David M. Crowe, professor of history, Elon College; Mark Osiel, professor of law, University of Iowa; James E. Young, professor of English and Judaic studies, University of Massachusetts at Amherst; Sybil Milton, Vice-President, Independent Experts: Switzerland-World War II; and Zygmunt Bauman, emeritus professor of sociology, University of Leeds. The book has won several awards, including the Tom Fairley Award for Editorial Excellence, Second Place, to copyeditor Carol Berger.

Primo Levi and the Politics of Survival

Author: Frederic D. Homer
Publisher: University of Missouri Press
ISBN: 0826263003
Release Date: 2001
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

At the age of twenty-five, Primo Levi was sent to Hell. Levi, an Italian chemist from Turin, was one of many swept up in the Holocaust of World War II and sent to die in the German concentration camp in Auschwitz. Of the 650 people transported to the camp in his group, only 15 men and 9 women survived. After Soviet liberation of the camp in 1945, Levi wrote books, essays, short stories, poetry, and a novel, in which he painstakingly described the horrors of his experience at Auschwitz. He also spent the rest of his life struggling with the fact that he was not among those who were killed. In Primo Levi and the Politics of Survival, Frederic D. Homer looks at Primo Levi's life but, more important, shows him to be a significant political philosopher. In the course of his writings, Levi asked and answered his most haunting question: can someone be brutalized by a terrifying experience and, upon return to "ordinary life," recover from the physical and moral destruction he has suffered? Levi used this question to develop a philosophy positing that although man is no match for life, he can become better prepared to contend with the tragedies in life. According to Levi, the horrors of the world occur because of the strength of human tendencies, which make relationships between human beings exceedingly fragile. He believed that we are ill-constituted beings who have tendencies toward violence and domination, dividing ourselves into Us and Them, with very shallow loyalties. He also maintained that our only refuge is in education and responsibility, which may counter these tendencies. Homer calls Levi's philosophy "optimistic pessimism." As Homer demonstrates, Levi took his past experiences into account to determine that goodwill and democratic institutions do not come easily to people. Liberal society is to be earned through discipline and responsibility toward our weaknesses. Levi's answer is "civilized liberalism." To achieve this we must counter some of our most stubborn tendencies. Homer also explores the impact of Levi's death, an apparent suicide, on the way in which his work and theories have been perceived. While several critics discount Levi's work because of the nature of his death, Homer argues that his death is consistent with his philosophy. A book rich in brutally honest philosophy, Primo Levi and the Politics of Survival compels one to look at serious questions about life, tragedy, optimism, solidarity, violence, and human nature.

Preempting the Holocaust

Author: Lawrence L. Langer
Publisher: Yale University Press
ISBN: 0300082681
Release Date: 2000
Genre: History

Annotation Lawrence L. Langer here explores the use of Holocaust themes in literature, memoirs, film, and painting, examining the work of such authors as Primo Levi, Elie Wiesel, Cynthia Ozick, Art Spiegelman, and Simon Wiesenthal, and appraising the art of Samuel Bak, the Holocaust Project by Judy Chicago, and the Yiddish film Undzere Kinder, made in Poland after the war.

Gray Zones

Author: Jonathan Petropoulos
Publisher: Berghahn Books
ISBN: 1845453026
Release Date: 2006
Genre: History

Accomplished Holocaust scholars--among them Raul Hilberg, Gerhard L. Weinberg, Christopher Browning, Peter Hayes, and Lynn Rapaport--bring a necessary interdisciplinary focus to bear on timely and often controversial topics in cutting-edge Holocaust studies that range from historical analysis to popular culture.

Primo Levi

Author: Nicholas Patruno
Publisher: Univ of South Carolina Press
ISBN: 157003026X
Release Date: 1995
Genre: History

Levi's compulsion to record the Holocaust.

Surviving the Hell of Auschwitz and Dachau

Author: Leslie Schwartz
Publisher: LIT Verlag Münster
ISBN: 9783643903686
Release Date: 2013
Genre: Social Science

Born in Hungary in 1930, Leslie Schwartz was a teenage survivor of the horrors of Auschwitz and Dachau who lost his entire immediate family in the Holocaust. His lifelong search for wholeness has led him back to Germany where his dream now is to leave a legacy of healing and conflict resolution. This book documents Leslie's experiences as a survivor of the Holocaust. (In 2013, Schwartz was awarded Germany's highest civilian honor, the Federal Cross of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany.) (Series: Anpassung - Selbstbehauptung - Widerstand - Vol. 35)

Obliged by Memory

Author: Steven T. Katz
Publisher: Syracuse University Press
ISBN: 0815630646
Release Date: 2006
Genre: History

A collection honoring Elie Wiesel's seventieth birthday. Based on a three-day symposium, The Claims of Memory, this volume conveys the omnipresence of memory in Elie Wiesel's writing and attempts to preserve the flavor of the exchange that took place. It represents several intersecting approaches to memory: the nature of memoir writing; an analysis of contrasting dimensions of memory in victims and persecutors; the ethics of memory; and chronicling of the memory of God through key texts in Christian and Jewish traditions.