The Mosaic

Author: Nina Berkhout
Publisher: Groundwood Books
ISBN: 155498985X
Release Date: 2017-09-01
Genre:

A teenaged pacifist and a PTSD-afflicted Marine form an unexpected bond over a secret buried in a decommissioned nuclear missile silo.

The Mosaic

Author: Gilbert Creutzberg
Publisher: Strategic Book Publishing
ISBN: 9781618975034
Release Date: 2012-01-09
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

The Nazis want to tear down a church with a mosaic of the last supper to build defensive positions in Holland & meet with protests.

Musing the Mosaic

Author: Matthew Roberson
Publisher: SUNY Press
ISBN: 9780791486825
Release Date: 2012-02-01
Genre: Literary Criticism

Examines Sukenick's role in reshaping the American literary tradition.

The Mystery of the Mosaic

Author: Harper Paris
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 9781442497238
Release Date: 2014-01-07
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

After arriving in Venice, Ethan and Ella embark on a high-speed gondola chase in the second book of this chapter book series about mystery, travel, and adventure. When Ethan and Ella first land in Venice, they are in awe of all the canals and tiny little streets. They’re especially excited to look for a five-hundred-year-old-mosaic near Calle Farnese that Grandpa Harry tells them about. While the twins are out getting gelato later that day, they notice someone looking around suspiciously as he unties a gondola from a dock. The next morning, the twins hear two gondoliers arguing, one of them accusing the other of stealing his most beautiful boat. The gondolier begs Ethan and Ella to help him find the boat. They agree, and also tell the man they need to get to Calle Farnese. Will the twins be able to find the stolen gondola and their Grandpa’s favorite mosaic...before dinner? With easy-to-read language and illustrations on almost every page, the Greetings from Somewhere chapter books are perfect for beginning readers.

The Mosaic

Author: J. H. B.
Publisher:
ISBN: OCLC:21074053
Release Date: 1861
Genre: Miniature books


The Making of the Mosaic

Author: Ninette Kelley
Publisher: University of Toronto Press
ISBN: 9781442690813
Release Date: 2010-10-02
Genre: History

Immigration policy is a subject of intense political and public debate. In this second edition of the widely recognized and authoritative work The Making of the Mosaic, Ninette Kelley and Michael Trebilcock have thoroughly revised and updated their examination of the ideas, interests, institutions, and rhetoric that have shaped Canada's immigration history. Beginning their study in the pre-Confederation period, the authors interpret major episodes in the evolution of Canadian immigration policy, including the massive deportations of the First World War and Depression eras as well as the Japanese-Canadian internship camps during World War Two. New chapters provide perspective on immigration in a post-9/11 world, where security concerns and a demand for temporary foreign workers play a defining role in immigration policy reform. A comprehensive and important work, The Making of the Mosaic clarifies the attitudes underlying each phase and juncture of immigration history, providing vital perspective on the central issues of immigration policy that continue to confront us today.

Diversity in Action

Author: R. S. Kandola
Publisher: CIPD Publishing
ISBN: 0852927428
Release Date: 1998
Genre: Discrimination in employment

Drawing on in-depth research into almost 500 organisations, this revised and updated text offers evidence of the evolution from traditional group-based equal opportunity policies towards inclusive strategies focusing on the individual's own contribution. It then puts forward a detailed model of diversity based on flexiblility, an empowering culture, universal benefits and business-related training defined by individual rather than group needs.

The Mosaic Of Shadows

Author: Tom Harper
Publisher: Random House
ISBN: 9781409065913
Release Date: 2010-06-01
Genre: Fiction

Byzantium, 1096. When a mysterious assassin looses his arrow at the Emperor, he has more than a man in his sights; the keystone of a crumbling empire, the Emperor is the solitary figure holding its enemies in check. If he falls, then the mightiest power in Christendom will be torn apart. Aware of the stakes, the Emperor hires Demetrios Askiates, the unveiler of mysteries, to catch the would-be-killer. But Demetrios is entering an unknown and mysterious world, a bubbling cauldron of princes, slaves, mercenaries, pimps and eunuchs. From the depths of the slums to the golden towers of the palace, and from the sands of the hippodrome to the soaring domes of Ayia Sophia, he must edge his way through a glittering maze of treachery and deceit before time runs out. Nor are all enemies within the city walls. With the Turks rampant across Asia, the Emperor has sent to the west for mercenaries to reinforce his position. He gets more than he bargained for, however, when a great army, tens of thousands strong, appear before the gates. The first crusaders have arrived, intent on making their fortunes in war, and they have no allegiance to an empire they eye with jealousy and suspicion. As the armies of east and west confront each other, and the assassin creeps ever closer to his prey, Demetrios must untangle the golden web of intrigue which surrounds the Emperor before the city - and the empire - are drowned in blood. A gripping historical epic that transports the reader back to an eventful and exhilarating era: the violence and intrigue of the Middle Ages.

The Mosaic Map of Madaba

Author: Herbert Donner
Publisher: Peeters Publishers
ISBN: 9039000115
Release Date: 1992
Genre: History

In the early 1880's dissension arose among the Muslim and Christian inhabitants of al-Karak, east of the Dead Sea. Up to that time the believers of both religions had lived peacefully together in the city. Problems arose and the Christians decicded to move. They were allowed to settle at Madaba. The government gave permission to build churches, but exclusively on those spots where churches had existed in Antiquity. The immigrants removed the debris from still partially visible foundation walls of the ancient churches. During this work they discovered in 1884 a marvelous mosaic map. It had been part of the floor of a large cathedral. The surviving fragments were roughly repaired and incorporated in the floor of the new St. George's church. It took nearly a hundred years and many admirers to have the map finally restored. This book is an introductory guide and can be a help to different kinds of people, such as visitors, students, and professors teaching first level archaeology, bible, and Umwelt. Numbers on the sketch included in the guide, refer the reader to appropriate information in the booklet. A colour reproduction of the map and a black/white sketch is included.

The Mosaic Book

Author: Peggy Vance
Publisher: Trafalgar Square
ISBN: 1570760608
Release Date: 1996
Genre: Crafts & Hobbies

In principle, mosaic is simple to create--it can be tackled by anyone who can tile a wall or glue down a collage. In practice, it needs to be carefully conceived, designed, planned, and executed for a real professional look. Practical and inspiring ideas for the beginner and the more experienced, this guide to the ancient art of mosaic features dazzling designs for home and garden, with 16 step-by-step projects, trace-off patterns, and an ample array of color photos to show you how to create your own beautiful mosaics.

The Germanicus Mosaic A Libertus Mystery of Roman Britain book 1

Author: Rosemary Rowe
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9781472205056
Release Date: 2013-04-11
Genre: Fiction

A deadly puzzle from the days of the Roman Empire... Rosemary Rowe introduces Libertus and Marcus Septimus, in The Germanicus Mosaic, the first fantastic mystery thriller of the highly acclaimed Libertus series. The perfect read for fans of Stephen Saylor and Lindsey Davis. 'Demonstrates Rowe's pithy command of the Roman sleuth genre... a considerable achievement' - The Times It is AD 186, and Britain is the northernmost province of the hugely successful Roman Empire. In Glevum (modern Gloucester), Libertus, a freedman and pavement-maker, lives under the patronage of Marcus Septimus. When a body is found in the furnace room of a nearby villa, and identified as that of Crassus Germanicus, a retired centurion, Marcus asks for Libertus's help. A slave is missing and the solution to the mystery seems obvious. But Libertus soon discovers that Germanicus has many enemies, and he must use his mosaicist's skill to put together the pieces of a most deadly puzzle. What readers are saying about The Germanicus Mosaic: 'Has it all: good storyline, interesting characters, historical perspective and a mystery that keeps you guessing all the way through' 'A very likeable and believable hero and cast of characters and some neat plot twists' 'A great introduction to a new detective, with atmospheric settings and an interesting take of Britain under the Romans'

3 D Coloring Book Mosaic Madness

Author: Jessica Mazurkiewicz
Publisher: Courier Corporation
ISBN: 9780486481043
Release Date: 2011-01-17
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

This 3-D coloring book presents a showcase of 30 dynamic images, including exploding geometric shapes, amazing abstracts, and intricate motifs. Color them by following the easy directions and create dazzling effects that will float off the page. Includes 3-D glasses!