Toughness

Author: Jay Bilas
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781101599020
Release Date: 2013-03-05
Genre: Sports & Recreation

ESPN basketball analyst and former Duke player Jay Bilas looks at the true meaning of toughness in this New York Times bestselling book that features stories from basketball legends. If anyone knows tough, it’s Jay Bilas. A four-year starter at Duke, he learned a strong work ethic under Coach Mike Krzyzewski. After playing professionally overseas, he returned to Duke, where he served as Krzyzewski’s assistant coach for three seasons, helping to guide the Blue Devils to two national championships. He has since become one of basketball’s most recognizable faces through his insightful analysis on ESPN’s SportsCenter and College GameDay. Through his ups and downs on and off the court, Bilas learned the true meaning of toughness from coaches, teammates, and colleagues. Now, in Toughness, he examines this misunderstood—yet vital—attribute and how it contributes to winning in sports and in life. Featuring never-before-heard stories and personal philosophies on toughness from top players and coaches, including Coach K, Bob Knight, Grant Hill, Mia Hamm, Jon Gruden, Tom Izzo, Roy Williams, Bill Self, Curtis Strange, and many others—Bilas redefines what it takes to succeed.

The Other Classroom

Author: Michael J. Coffino
Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield
ISBN: 9781538108079
Release Date: 2018-09-04
Genre: Sports & Recreation

This book details the importance of high school athletics to the student athletes, beyond just the sports experience itself. It argues that the lessons learned, tools acquired, and values instilled have an enduring impact and prepare young athletes for the challenges they will face in life after their formal education is complete.

Raise Your Game

Author: Alan Stein Jr.
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9781546082873
Release Date: 2019-01-08
Genre: Self-Help

Performance coach Alan Stein Jr. shares the secret principles used by world-class performers that will help you improve your productivity and achieve higher levels of success. High achievers are at the top of their game because of the discipline they have during the unseen hours. They have made a commitment to establish, tweak, and repeat positive habits in everything they do. RAISE YOUR GAME examines the top leaders in sports and business and proves that success is a result of the little things we do all the time. The basic principles provided in RAISE YOUR GAME are simple, but not easy. We live in an instantly downloadable world that encourages us to skip steps. We are taught to chase what's hot, flashy and sexy and ignore what's basic. But the basics work. They always have and they always will. RAISE YOUR GAME will inspire and empower you to commit to the fundamentals, create a winning mindset, and progress into new levels of success.

Dream Jobs in Sports Psychology

Author: Jessica Shaw
Publisher: The Rosen Publishing Group, Inc
ISBN: 9781508178644
Release Date: 2017-12-15
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

For those who enjoy sports and are interested in the field of psychology, a career in sports psychology might be a perfect fit. This comprehensive guide offers readers essential information about sports psychology, including its history, areas of specialization within the field, an in-depth look at the work sports psychologists do, academic requirements, potential job growth and outlook, and valuable resources for those who wish to pursue this career. Becoming a sports psychologist requires hard work and great academic effort, but for those who rise to the challenge, it offers a dynamic, rewarding career path unlike any other.

Can t Miss

Author: Chris Dooley
Publisher: Xlibris Corporation
ISBN: 9781514426531
Release Date: 2015-12-03
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

Kevin Pangos grew up in a family that valued hard work and personal accountability. Kevin Pangos fell in love with all sports but especially basketball. Kevin Pangos went on to become one of the best age-group basketball players in the world before he journeyed to Spokane, Washington to become a fan favorite and one of the best point guards in the history of Gonzaga University. In Can't Miss, first-time author Chris Dooley captures the essence of the number of people involved in helping in the development of a world-class athlete. In the tradition of Malcolm Gladwell's Outliers, Jay Bilas' Toughness and Jim Loehr's The Only Way to Win Dooley shows that the life and development of Kevin Pangos is about the process and the people around him as much as it is about the inherent work ethic so evident in everything Kevin does. Can't Miss is not just a biography about a young basketball phenom. It's about the family values of the Pangos family. It's about the great coaches and trainers who helped Kevin along the way. It's about the opportunities that Kevin was given and it's about how Kevin took advantage of all those opportunities in pursuit of his basketball dreams. Can't Miss is a story that every parent and every young athlete should read.

Congressional Record

Author:
Publisher:
ISBN: STANFORD:36105009867578
Release Date: 1959
Genre: Law

The Congressional Record is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. It is published daily when Congress is in session. The Congressional Record began publication in 1873. Debates for sessions prior to 1873 are recorded in The Debates and Proceedings in the Congress of the United States (1789-1824), the Register of Debates in Congress (1824-1837), and the Congressional Globe (1833-1873)

Professional Sports Team Histories Basketball

Author: Michael L. LaBlanc
Publisher: Gale Group
ISBN: UOM:49015002860394
Release Date: 1994
Genre: Sports & Recreation

Explores the history of North American professional football, baseball, basketball, and hockey teams

Nuestro

Author:
Publisher:
ISBN: STANFORD:36105005389981
Release Date: 1978
Genre: Hispanic Americans


The NBA Finals

Author: Roland Lazenby
Publisher:
ISBN: PSU:000031134262
Release Date: 1996
Genre: Sports & Recreation

Provides coverage of the NBA finals from the first event in 1947 when the Philadelphia Warriors defeated the Chicago Stags, through the 1996 season, when the Chicago Bulls defeated the Seattle Sonics

Blue Ribbon College Basketball Forecast

Author: Chris Dortch
Publisher: Potomac Books Incorporated
ISBN: 157488431X
Release Date: 2002-10
Genre: Sports & Recreation

Offers a guide to every Division I team, including conference standings, statistics, and tournament results.

Sight and Sound

Author:
Publisher:
ISBN: STANFORD:36105005401794
Release Date: 1952
Genre: Motion pictures