Whatever You Do Don t Run

Author: Peter Allison
Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield
ISBN: 9781493010998
Release Date: 2014-06-03
Genre: Travel

A hilarious, highly original collection of essays based on the Botswana truism: “only food runs!” With a new introduction and new material from the author In the tradition of Bill Bryson, a new writer brings us the lively adventures and biting wit of an African safari guide. Peter Allison gives us the guide’s-eye view of living in the bush, confronting the world’s fiercest terrain of wild animals and, most challenging of all, managing herds of gaping tourists. Passionate for the animals of the Kalahari, Allison works as a top safari guide in the wildlife-rich Okavango Delta. As he serves the whims of his wealthy clients, he often has to stop the impulse to run as far away from them as he can, as these tourists are sometimes more dangerous than a pride of lions. No one could make up these outrageous-but-true tales: the young woman who rejected the recommended safari-friendly khaki to wear a more “fashionable” hot pink ensemble; the lost tourist who happened to be drunk, half-naked, and a member of the British royal family; establishing a real friendship with the continent’s most vicious animal; the Japanese tourist who requested a repeat performance of Allison’s being charged by a lion so he could videotape it; and spending a crazy night in the wild after blowing a tire on a tour bus, revealing that Allison has as much good-natured scorn for himself. The author’s humor is exceeded only by his love and respect for the animals, and his goal is to limit any negative exposure to humans by planning trips that are minimally invasive—unfortunately it doesn’t always work out that way! New story: People often ask safari guides about the experience that frightened them the most. In this story Peter Allison tells of the time he became aware of unseen danger, and knew that somewhere within meters of him was a hunting lioness. Peter Allison is originally from Sydney, Australia. His safaris have been featured in National Geographic, Conde Nast Traveler, and on television programs such as Jack Hanna’s Animal Adventures. He travels frequently to speaking appearances, and splits most of his time between Botswana, Sydney, and San Francisco.

Don t Look Behind You

Author: Peter Allison
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9781857884173
Release Date: 2010-12-07
Genre: Travel

Join a top safari guide for hair-raising and hilarious tales of South Africa, animals and close escapes. It shouldn't be fun to be charged by an animal that could easily crush you, but top safari guide Peter Allison gets an odd thrill every time an elephant charges his beaten-up Jeep or a peckish crocodile looks at him sideways. By now you'd think the bestselling author of DON'T RUN, Whatever You Do would know how to keep out of trouble. But from avoiding territorial hippos and hungry lions to dodging landmines and getting lost on the unforgiving savannah, Peter has had his fair share of close calls. Drawing on his experiences in South Africa, Botswana, Mozambique and Namibia, Don't Look Behind You! is another book of funny, true safari stories, perfect for telling around a campfire.

DON T RUN Whatever You Do

Author: Peter Allison
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9781857884166
Release Date: 2011-01-11
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

The Okavango Delta, Botswana: a lush wetland in the middle of the Kalahari desert. Aged 19, Peter Allison thought he would visit for a short holiday before going home to get a 'proper job'. But Peter fell in love with southern Africa and its wildlife and before long had risen to become a top safari guide. In Don't Run, Whatever You Do, you'll hear outrageous-but-true tales from the most exciting safaris. You'll find out when an elephant is really going to charge, what different monkey calls mean and what do in a face off with lions. Sometimes the tourists are even wilder than the animals, from the half-naked missing member of the British royal family to the Japanese amateur photographer who ignores all the rules to get the perfect shot. Don't Run, Whatever You Do is a glimpse of what the life of an expert safari guide is really like.

Rough Guide Ultimate Adventures

Author: Rough Guides
Publisher: Rough Guides UK
ISBN: 9781848360402
Release Date: 2008-09-01
Genre: Travel

Ultimate Adventures: A Rough Guide to Adventure Travel features 30 different adventure sections and is jam-packed with breathtaking photography. There are adventures for all travellers, including “soft” experiences for those testing their bravery levels and extreme adventures for adrenalin junkies, each rated by physical, psychological, skill and wow factor! Whether your appetite for adrenalin takes you to arctic freezes, ocean depths or sweltering deserts, this book will tell you how, why and when to plan your ultimate adventure. Written by trekker extraordinaire Gregg Witt, who brings cultural sensitivity and humour, as well as concise practical information. You’ll find maps and safety tips as well as advice on the best local guides, essential gear and safety tips. Make the most of your time on Earth with this spectacular foray into world adventures.

Historical Dictionary of Botswana

Author: Barry Morton
Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield
ISBN: 9781538111338
Release Date: 2018-06-13
Genre: History

This fifth edition of Historical Dictionary of Botswana contains a chronology, an introduction, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary has over 500 cross-referenced entries on important personalities, politics, economy, foreign relations, religion, and culture.

An Eagle Named Freedom

Author: Jeff Guidry
Publisher: Harper Collins
ISBN: 9780061992414
Release Date: 2010-05-04
Genre: Pets

“A hauntingly beautiful story of rescue and rehabilitation….[A] gorgeous tale of redemption.” —Susan Richards, New York Times bestselling author of Chosen by a Horse “I could not put this book down.” —Stacey O'Brien, New York Times bestselling author of Wesley the Owl In the tradition of A Lion Called Christian and Alex and Me comes An Eagle Named Freedom, Jeff Guidry’s remarkable story of how he rehabilitated a severely damaged bald eagle back to health—and how the majestic bird later inspired the author to triumph over cancer. Animal lovers and readers fascinated by the spiritual ties between animals and humans will not soon forget this beautiful, inspiring true tale of an extraordinary friendship.

Whatever You Do Don t Run

Author: Chris Roche
Publisher: Nb Pub Limited
ISBN: IND:30000115734695
Release Date: 2006
Genre: Nature

From the hair-raising to the hilarious, Whatever You Do, Don't Run reveals the reality of game ranging as experienced by four very human rangers. Crammed with facts on the African bush and its wildlife, the book also gives the wannabe ranger answers to guiding conundrums such as: - What to say when the crocodile-infested river you're driving through turns out to be just a little deeper than you had thought - and the engine stalls? - How to hide from ten curious guests the fact that you have just been bitten by a puff adder? - And, perhaps most importantly, how to save the life of the camp's barman using only Milton's drain cleaner. Exquisite black and white drawings and photographs add to the charm of this easy and entertaining read, which will have you longing for the bush.

Sailing with Noah

Author: Jeffrey P. Bonner
Publisher:
ISBN: 0826216366
Release Date: 2006
Genre: Nature

"An intensely personal, behind-the-scenes look at modern zoos, written in a lively, accessible style. Through a variety of true stories, some funny, some sad, occurring in different cities and on different continents, Bonner describes the changing role of

Zimbabwe and Botswana

Author: Barbara McCrea
Publisher: Rough Guides Limited
ISBN: CORNELL:31924077189870
Release Date: 1996-10
Genre: Travel

The most complete handbook to one of Africa's most beautiful regions offers advice on watching wildlife, information about Victoria Falls, the region's ancient sights--from the rock art of the Tsodilo Hills to the stone palaces of Great Zimbabwe--and sensitive discussions of environmental issues, music, history, and contemporary culture. Full-color wildlife guide.